Where sunsets are best served in mountains

Posted on August 8, 2010

5


Naturally, I am talking about Baguio City, but there isn’t going to be sunsets in this post. This post is encouraging news, more on a personal level than anything else, as this is the first batch of migrants from my old site.

And since I owe to this city much of what I know about this ‘craft,’ I am going to start off with some of my preferred photos over the more than 30 months I’ve been in possession of a camera.

During one of the rare visits to Mines View Park, almost always with family, I took this shot using a Sony point-and-shoot camera, which belonged to my aunt. This turned out to be the only photo of the subject I was able to keep all these years.

Taken sometime during the summer of 2008, while on Journalism internship at a local daily, at Grove 55 at the Philippine Military Academy. I was supposed to cover an event which now escapes my memory, and I took this while waiting for this supposed activity to start, using my Kodak point-and-shoot. But all my effort at finding this part of PMA nevertheless was not wasted even after I realized that which I came for all the way there was not happening after all (PMA was, for the record, far from my school, or my house, or the newsroom I reported to). It turned out the place was for a gathering of orphans and cadets for an outreach activity.

Baguio Cathedral, taken from SM Baguio, after a drizzle.

Taken on Valentine’s Day 2009, when perhaps half of Baguio was in Burnham Park for the Fluvial Parade.

Taken in 2009, during one of the usual afternoon walks around the lagoon.

The Our Lady of the Atonement Cathedral, which to Baguio people is just the Baguio Cathedral. Taken during one of the rare 7-AM shoots I took alone.

Taken the same day as the one above. This is one of my favorite photos ever.

Taken in 2009, I guess, at the Philippine Military Academy.

Taken on the same day as the photo before it, obviously at PMA still.

Taken during one of those group shoots with friends, near Camp John Hay. I don’t know what the place was called, but it was just above those eateries supposedly serving, er, dogmeat? Or was it goatmeat? Not sure.

Taken in July 2009 during a photowalk, in the middle of a post-typhoon drizzle, at the Baguio Cathedral. This, too, is one of my favorite photos, as is the next one.

Taken, obviously, at the rectangular lagoon in Baguio’s most famous park.

One of my earlier Burnham Park shots, taken with my Kodak point-and-shoot, most probably in 2008.

Taken July 2009, along with the two before the previous photo.

Posted in: Uncategorized